Large Medium small Local Government Boundary Commission for Scotland Home Boundary Commission for Scotland


Maps pdf index | | Wards 1995 - 1999 | Wards 1999 - 2007 | Wards 2007 - 2017 | Wards 2017 onwards |

We have produced pdfs and a webmap of current and historic ward and local authority boundaries. Another source of maps showing current wards and local authority areas is Ordnance Survey's Election Maps website - For more information about maps, including buying maps, see the Maps section of our Frequently Asked Questions.

You can download shapefiles of all of the council areas and electoral areas since we were established in 1973 from the Data files pages.

We have produced an overview map of the local authorities in Scotland, which can be downloaded here File icon.

Local Government boundary webmap

Local Government boundaries (wards from 1995, 1999, 2007, 2017 and current council area boundaries) - click to view webmap in new browser. The existing council area boundaries have been in place since 1995. (We have undertaken interim reviews of these, most recently at: Keltybridge, Cardowan (2009 and 2018), Fithiebank and Robroyston). We have all Scotland ward boundaries from 1995, 1999, 2007 and 2017.

Select a layer layer tool on the webmap to view current and historic boundaries.

Thistle House
91 Haymarket Terrace
Edinburgh, EH12 5HD
Phone: 0131 244 2001