Large Medium small Local Government Boundary Commission for Scotland Home Boundary Commission for Scotland

Current members

Functions and appointments | Contact us | Current members | Past members | Copyright

Ronnie Hinds CPFA, Chair

Appointed 1 September 2013 for a period of 4 years, and reappointed until 31 August 2021.
Ronnie Hinds is a qualified accountant with over 30 years experience in local government in Scotland and the UK. He was Chief Executive of Fife Council for seven years until he retired in June 2013. Prior to that he held posts as Head of Financial Services with the City of Edinburgh Council, Director of Finance with North Lanarkshire Council and Controller of Audit and Deputy Auditor General for Scotland.

Ailsa Henderson, Deputy Chair

Appointed 1 December 2017 for a period of 4 years.
Ailsa Henderson is a Professor of Political Science in the Department of Politics and International Relations at the University of Edinburgh, where she gained her PhD and now teaches courses on research methods, quantitative analysis, UK and comparative politics. Her published research examines sub-state political behaviour, including voter turnout, political culture and civic engagement. She was previously Assistant Professor of Political Science at Wilfrid Laurier University and the University of Toronto and was formerly Working Groups Chair of the Ontario Citizens' Assembly for Electoral Reform.

Roland Bean

Appointed 1 November 2013 for a period of 4 years, and reappointed until 31 October 2021.
Roland Bean holds a degree in Geography and Masters degrees in Urban Design and Regional Planning and Theology, Imagination and Culture and is a retired Member of the Royal Town Planning Institute. He spent his career in Local Government in Scotland, latterly as Head of Planning for Perth and Kinross Council. After taking early retirement in 2011, he worked for VSO in Zambia as a Planning and Management Advisor. He sits on the board of a number of national and local charities including the Gannochy Trust. Roland brings to the Commission wide knowledge and experience of the geography and demography and of the operation of local government in Scotland.

Gordon Macmillan

Appointed 19 November 2018 for a period of 4 years.
Gordon Macmillan is a graduate of Aberdeen University with a honours degree in Politics and Economics. He was a senior journalist and media executive for more than thirty five years, working for the BBC in London and Scotland, CNN in Atlanta USA and most recently with STV as Head of News. At STV he oversaw the broadcasterís coverage of political issues at local, regional and national level. He led the teams covering Holyrood elections, European Parliament campaigns, Westminster elections as well as local government elections and the 2014 Scottish Independence referendum. Gordon has a proven track record of objective assessment of political issues and has a developed understanding of Scotlandís political landscape and the concerns and interests of local communities.

Susan Walker OBE

Appointed 1 November 2013 for a period of 4 years, and reappointed until 31 October 2021.
Susan Walker has a degree in Geography and a PhD in computer mapping. She has worked in the rural and environment sector for over 30 years. She was for a time Professor of Geography and Environment at the University of Aberdeen. Over the last 15 years she has held a number of Board positions with public bodies in Scotland. She is currently a board member with Scottish Natural Heritage. Susan is also currently a board member of Food Standards Scotland; and member of the customer forum representing customer interests to Scottish Water. She is a trustee of the Macaulay Development Trust.

Register of Interests

The Commission maintains a Register of Interests of Commissioners. The Register, together with the Code of Practice for Commissioners which describes the content of the Register, is available from the Publications section of this website.


The work of the Commission is supported by a small Secretariat which is headed by the Secretary, Isabel Drummond-Murray. Isabel is a civil servant. She began her career in the Ministry of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food where she worked on food industry policy and in Ministerial Private Office before transferring to the Scottish Government. During her time in Scottish Government she has worked on environmental policy; criminal justice policy; on tackling homelessness; on violence against women issues; and as a PCS lay representative and Secretary of the Council of Scottish Government Unions.

Thistle House
91 Haymarket Terrace
Edinburgh, EH12 5HD
Phone: 0131 244 2001